Time well spent 

“Let Jesus be the only one you worship” is what I heard deep down in my spirit when I was praying last night. Someone once asked me how I knew it was the Lord and not just my mind when I get messages during prayer. I have to say that I pay my dues. I do my time so to speak and I don’t mean it in a negative way. I spend time every day drawing closer to the Lord. Every single day! I have made it my priority for the past (almost) four years. It takes dedication and devotion. I won’t sugarcoat it. There is no secret. It comes with commitment and a desire to know Him better. I am convinced that we can all develop a relationship with the Lord where we hear from Him and we know without a doubt that He is talking to us. When you spend time with the Lord it becomes apparent to others. You don’t have to say anything. Those with sharp spiritual eyes will notice it. Time with God is time well spent. 

I wrote last year about the man I saw outside of Walmart. I was coming out of the store and this guy was sitting at a table talking about his charity. When he saw me he said “Brother you have the Lord all over you. You can’t deny you are a Christian. There is an anointing on your life.” I am not saying this to brag but to show how the Lord in you is manifested. I had never met that guy before and I wasn’t wearing a Jesus tee-shirt. As a matter of fact, I wasn’t even wearing a smile but he was able to see the relationship I had. He insisted that I was saved and asked me how long I had known the Lord. I could have said I wasn’t a Christian. He could have been wrong but he was right. We talked about Jesus and we prayed together. Time spent with the Lord in private will always be reflected in public. 

I just want to encourage you to spend more time in private with the Lord. The Holy Spirit is the best companion to have and He is chatty if you take the time to listen. In John 16:13 Jesus said “But when He, the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; He will speak only what He hears, and He will tell you what is yet to come.” The Holy Spirit is omnipresent and He knows everything. He dwells in you. When you tap into your relationship with Him, you will open doors of knowledge that will lead you into the truth. Like I said before it takes time and commitment. Spending an hour a week with the Lord once a week will not be enough. Walk with Him daily. Walk with Him in faith. Let Jesus be the One you worship. Think about what that means to you. It might mean rearranging some of your priorities. I know I need to do that all the time. Enjoy your time with the Lord. It is well worth it!

Suggested reading: John 14:17; John 14:26; 1 Corinthians 2: 10-13

Leave a Reply

