Leaving the grave behind 

The band Hillsong United just came out with a great new album. The song that has touched me the most so far is “So Will I (100 Billion X).” One of the lyrics goes “If You left the grave behind You so will I.” What a powerful statement?! How many of us are holding on to the grave so to speak when Jesus left it behind? He didn’t leave it behind just for Himself. He did it for you and me. We need to work on developing a “grave left-behind mentality.” 1 Corinthians 15:55 tells us that death has no victory and no sting anymore. Death was overcome by Jesus. With this victory came an eternal perspective that we as believers should have. That perspective doesn’t look at the grave. It looks at the victory and Jesus’ authority over death. Now, the grave symbolizes everything that pertains to a life without the Lord. We shouldn’t be attached to any of it. We should live in the fullness of the victory over the grave. 

We can look at this whole idea as the difference between life and death. Death being represented by the grave and life being represented by Jesus’ resurrection. There are two camps and we choose one of the two or better said we side with one of the two depending on what we do and what we say. We know that life and death are in the power of the tongue (Proverbs 18:21). If we choose to talk negatively we are siding with death. If we constantly believe that things are not going to get better, that we are prone to curses or bad luck, we are siding with death as well. If we complain all the time and belittle the Lord with our whining, we side with death. Siding with death or “sticking with the grave” doesn’t mean that we are not saved. It just means that we are depriving ourselves of the blessings and the life the Lord has provided for us. Accepting defeat, lack and loss is another way to side with the wrong camp. Just like the song says, we need to leave the grave behind!

Recently I had a big choice to make. A choice that we have to make all the time. I was faced with a situation where it was very easy for me to hang on to the wrong side and be very miserable. I could choose to leave the grave behind or live as if the grave was my lot or my fate. It was very difficult. I had to choose faith and life. I didn’t have to but I wanted to. We do have a choice, friend. Let’s always choose to leave the grave behind. Let’s choose to go forward without looking back at our old life and at the misery that once was. We have free will and we ought to use it for the best. I think sometimes we don’t think that we have a choice when we really do. Whatever happens to us we can decide how we are going to react. I like to have a Jesus’ reaction. The type of reaction that says “the grave has no power over me. It is behind me and it’s not in my future. My future is brighter than the sun at midday and the Lord is my Shepherd any day!”  

Suggested reading: Matthew 12:35-37; Ephesians 4:29; James 3:6-9

Leave a Reply

