You are righteous 

“The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective” (James 5:16). If Jesus is your Savior and if you accepted Him into your heart then you are the righteous one that this verse is talking about. You don’t have to be Moses or David to pray effective prayers. You were made the righteousness of God so your prayers are powerful. As you go through this week, I want you to remember this amazing scripture. God hears your prayer and God answers your prayer. You are a righteous person and you say powerful prayers. The question is, are you aware of how effective and powerful your prayers are? Have faith that your prayers are good and they are going to produce great results. 

There is a very interesting exercise I suggest you should do. Look for verses in the Bible that talk about “the righteous” and substitute that word with your name or with “I” or “me”. You will see better how the Bible is talking about you. For instance Psalm 112:6 says that “Surely the righteous will never be shaken; they will be remembered forever.” You can read it as “Surely I will never be shaken; I will be remembered forever.” You are righteous and nothing should shake you. This is part of your heritage. It is a privilege that you need to claim and to start believing. There are many privileges that we have as the righteous people of God but we are not aware of them and we don’t live their fullness in our lives. Effective prayers is one of them like I mentioned earlier. Let’s make a point to grow in faith and believe that. 

I enjoy praying very much especially because I know I am heard by the Lord. I have accepted that I was made righteous by Jesus. I don’t shy away from Him and I go boldly to the throne of God in prayer. I talk to Him about anything and everything and He answers anything and everything. Friend, whatever you say in prayer this week say it with confidence. Say it knowing that your prayers are effective and powerful. You don’t need a special lingo to talk to God. Just speak your heart. Your prayers are excellent prayers. I asked the Holy Spirit to teach me how to pray and it all came together naturally. I sometimes wonder where the words come from and I marvel at how good He is. Thank God for the privilege of being able to pray to Him! Start your week with the knowledge that you are righteous and that you are going to get answers to your powerful prayers. God is with you. He loves you and He takes care of you. You are His righteous child!

Suggested reading: Psalm 15:5; Psalm 55:22; Proverbs 10:7

Leave a Reply

