After waiting patiently…

When God made His promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for Him to swear by, He swore by Himself, saying, “I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.” And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.” (Hebrews 6:13-15). You and I are Abraham’s descendants. We are entitled to the blessings that God bestowed upon him and greater blessings since Jesus came and died for us. God has made promises to you, friend. He promised to be your refuge, your shelter, your best friend, the One who loves you the most and the One who takes care of all your needs. Today I feel like shouting at the top of my lungs and thanking the Lord for being faithful. He keeps His promises all the time. Now, notice that it says that “After waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.” Friend, you might be in the waiting stage now and all I can tell you is to keepwaiting patiently. You are not waiting in vain. After waiting patiently, you are going to receive what was promised to you. 

They say that patience is a virtue. It is certainly something that the Lord knows well and that He appreciates. Patience is a fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22). It is be opposite of frustration and loss of temper. It implies not counting the days and not counting the hours until we receive what we have been waiting for. What is the best way to be patient? For one thing we need to continue to live our lives while we are waiting. We need to actually enjoy our lives as if we were not waiting for anything. Zeroing in on the good we have while we wait is a great step. Thanking God while we wait is necessary. It is vital. There are a few things I have been waiting for and I have decided not to give them much energy. I keep myself busy so I don’t have to think about them. I start new projects and I put new ideas into action. One thing that helps me while I am waiting is to focus on someone else. I find helping someone or encouraging someone makes the wait less painful. 

Recently I came to understand that if I spend my time loving the Lord and getting to know Him better, the wait is not bad at all. Love the Lord with all your heart while you are waiting for your breakthrough sounds like the right thing to do. Genesis 29:20 says “So Jacob served seven years to get Rachel, but they seemed like only a few days to him because of his love for her.” I want to be more like Jacob. I want 7 years to feel like only a few days because I will have spent 7 years in love with the Lord. I want this love to be my reason for living and my strength each and every day. This is the kind of love that will make you and I wait patiently because we will just savor it with all our might. There is a great reward after waiting. God wants to bless us and to show us that He keeps His promises. Wait patiently as you develop your love for Him. The wait will go smoothly and you will come out of it with great benefits. God will deliver His promises, friend. Just wait patiently!

Suggested reading: Proverbs 14:29; Romans 8:24-30; Ephesians 4:2

Leave a Reply

