Rest up!

Weekends are a great time to relax and unwind. Lately I have tried to maximize my relaxing time on the weekend but I end up doing a lot. Busy week plus busy weekend equals one tired man. I don’t like feeling tired for the obvious reasons but I also find that it interferes with my prayer life. It also puts a damper on things and it magnifies the negative instead of keeping you in the positive. I have recommended rest in previous messages but today the idea is resonating even louder in my spirit. God calls us to rest because He knows the benefits we will reap from that. 

Do you rest enough? What does rest look like for you? I used to think that I shouldn’t rest too much. I used to believe that I had to be busy all the time. I used to think that I needed to spend every waking hour doing something productive or something that would please God. If I didn’t have work to do, I couldn’t watch tv because I felt that it wouldn’t be helping me spiritually. I have to say that religion had a hold on me for a while but it lost its grip as I got closer to the Lord. I learned that we need to unwind and watching tv is fine. If watching tv is going to help you relax then by all means do it. If you get burned out, you won’t be receptive to the Lord. 

Sunday is a great day to rest for a lot of people. Some people wait until Sunday to really relax. My suggestion is to have little pockets of Sunday throughout the week. We need breaks. We need to be able to recharge our batteries. Create Sunday pockets and sprinkle them over the other days of the week. 

Jesus knew the importance of rest and He would take time away from the crowds. Let’s follow His example. Let’s take time away from our crowds. The crowds can be people but they also represent anything that keeps us busy and that holds our attention. Social media is a “crowd” that we could all avoid from time to time. Let’s have social media free pockets during the week. Our mind will appreciate the break and our spirit will thank us. 

Friend, value your rest as much as you value your work and your busy time. Learn how to rest if you don’t know how. At times we are so used to being busy that we don’t know how to relax. Give yourself a break and it will give your spirit a boost. Rest up!

Suggested reading: Genesis 2:3; Psalm 4:8; Matthew 11:28-30

Leave a Reply

