Trust the driver

It took me a little over three hours to drive back from Boston the other day instead of two and a half hours. Getting out of the city took a long time. There was a lot of traffic and I had to go very slowly. All the one-way streets and all the lights slowed me down. Once I was on the Massachusetts Turnpike I was able to fly and drive non stop. I am one of those drivers that don’t stop. I like to go straight to my destination and I will only stop if very necessary. My trip back from Massachusetts made me think of how our week can be compared to a long road and how we jump on the highway of life and keep going all week. The difference between my drive back and how our week work is that the Lord is in the driver’s seat during our long week. We are supposed to take the passenger seat and let Him guide us and trust that He will get us home safely. Just like my trip, our ride during the week might get a slow start. The first few days might drag a little bit as we face a few lights and some traffic. However, the Lord puts us in the fast lane and we should expect to sit and relax as He is driving us. It’s interesting how lately the Lord has been telling me to keep trusting Him. When I end my prayers He tells me deep down to not fear and to rely on Him completely. I like to think that I am pretty dependent on Him but His reminders are there for a reason. I have great days when I just focus on Him and surrender myself to Him and then I hit a wall. The wall could be compared to a pothole on the road. It makes me pull over and change my tire. Friend, there will be times this week when we will have to pull over and change the tire. We will have to take a step back and slow down and trust that the Lord has a spare tire for us. As a matter of fact He has an unlimited supply of spare tires. He has an unlimited amount of rest stops for us. He said in Matthew 11:28-30, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” When you get tired on the road of life this week the Lord will give you rest. Turn to Him. Depend on Him. Let Him do the driving. Let Him figure it out. He never said we had to make sense of everything while we are in the passenger seat. He never said we had to tell Him which road to take and which turn to make. He simply said to trust Him. Don’t worry about the slow start of the week. With the Lord you will gain momentum in no time. Bumps on the road are inevitable but they are there for a good reason. We tend to want to go real fast and get to Friday before Tuesday is even over. Let’s slow down and trust that our ride is going to be smooth and that even when there are obstacles on the way, God is still the driver. It doesn’t matter how long it takes you to get to your destination. It might be over three hours instead of two and a half hours but rest assured that the Lord will get you there safe and sound. Enjoy the scenery while He is driving you. Stay in the moment. Leave the driving to the Lord. God’s got this!Suggested reading: Isaiah 55:1-3; John 6:37; Galatians 5:1

One thought on “Trust the driver

  1. “I have great days when I just focus on Him and surrender myself to Him and then I hit a wall.” Thank you for reminding me that I am not alone “on the road.” I don’t know about you, but I beat myself up at times for knowing, I mean knowing, the truths of God’s love, patience, faithfulness, and provision, and yet, (the big YET), I fall right into that pot hole of fear and worry and loose my joy and peace. “Why?” I ask myself. Why can’t I get it so entrenched in me that I never lose it. Oh, to know I am not alone. Thank you for your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

