Pray it out

Two days ago frustration tried to sip in and confusion ran through my head like a migraine that didn’t want to go away. I always say pray first before worrying but this time I couldn’t get myself to pray because I had so much work to do and I gave myself a two hour window to get through a pile of tests and projects I had to grade. I prayed quickly and it did help a bit but the angst came running back after a few minutes. I spent the evening with that feeling hanging around my neck like a heavy necklace made of stones and anxiety. When I closed my eyes to get into meditative prayer mode, the Lord told me to “pray it out.” When people need to sort things out they have to talk it out until they have exhausted all options. Talking it out allows the parties involved to come to a resolution. The Lord was telling me to pray until I reached a resolution and peace would be back. There was a war in my head and I needed a ceasefire. Negative thoughts were exploding in my head and they were creating chaos. I did what I had learned to do in the past few years. I gave in to the Lord. I just stopped resisting Him and let the Holy Spirit take over. The best way I can describe what happened is by referencing Romans 8:26 that says “In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.” I relied on Him to help me pray. My prayer wasn’t a prayer of supplication. I didn’t beg Him to get me out of the funk. Instead I prayed with boldness declaring that I was a child of God. I said that I was more than a conqueror. I proclaimed that I had the mind of Christ. I confessed loud and clear that no weapon forged against me shall prosper. I went on and on using the scriptures that the Spirit was directing me to use. I also thanked the Lord for the victory. I told Him I couldn’t make it without Him. I said I believed I would make it through His strength and His power and not through my own strength. Friend, it took me a while to pray it out but it did wonders. I prayed the funk out of my system. I prayed gloom out of my spiritual system. Sometimes you just have to keep on pressing and standing in prayer until a breakthrough. I went to bed at midnight which is late for me on a school night but I got the resolution I needed. Pray it out whenever you have to. It will change you for sure. Suggested reading: John 14:16-17; John 14:26; John 16:7

Leave a Reply

