Praying like a child

When I first got saved I prayed for anything and everything. By anything I really mean anything at all. I remember telling my friend Lionel in gym class that I could help him get the girl of his dreams. Mind you we were in 7th grade at the time. There was this one girl he liked so I said that if he wanted to be with her all he had to do was believe it would happen and it would come to pass for sure. I told him I just needed to pray for him. I was using Mark 11:24 as a foundation. It says “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.” Oh the faith of a kid! Little did I know that, yes anything was possible with God but I had to pray according to His will and that God wasn’t in the business of forcing people to like other people just because we ask Him to. I did pray for my friend who looked at me like I had lost my marbles. The whole situation only created frustration for me (I’m still friends with that guy by the way but thank God he completely forgot about it). I found myself frustrated many times because of unanswered prayers and I started doubting my ability to pray, doubting myself as a child of God and let’s be honest, I also doubted God. I just didn’t understand how it all worked and I was going about it the wrong way. A lot can be said about a child’s faith and when it is based on a strong biblical foundation, it can change the world or at least the child’s world. Don’t you wish we all had a child’s faith? I deal with kids on a daily basis and a lot of them would believe just about anything. They are open and ready to swallow any “truth” you tell them. What a powerful way to be! What I learned is that as we pray in line with God’s will, we should come to Him and regard Him as our Father because that is truly who He is. He is the best father that exists. We need to have the assurance that whatever we ask in prayer He will give to us because He is a very good father. In the natural, when a kid asks his father for something, you can be sure that the father will do his best to make sure that his child gets what he wants. The child knows that his/her father will give him/her what he/she asked. There is no doubt in the kid’s mind because the father is good. Let’s adopt the same approach with God. When you have a need, find out what God’s will regarding that need is and ask Him according to His will. The next step is important. Believe you will get it. Receive what you asked in faith. Have the confidence that God will give it to you in His perfect timing. Have the faith of a child who knows beyond the shadow of a doubt that his/her father will come through. To this day I am still standing on Mark 11:24. I ask and I believe I have received which means I only ask once and then I thank the Lord every day for the answer. Prayer should really pour into praise. Praise is the continuation of our conversation with God. We start with prayer, we hear from God through the Holy Spirit and then we keep talking with God by praising Him and worshipping Him. Whining and complaining are part of a different language. It’s not the language of prayer and faith. Friend, I am a living testimony when it comes to prayer. If you pray and believe it is yours, it will be yours eventually. I have witnessed fast answers to prayers and answers that took a very long time but while I was waiting, the Lord taught me a thing or two about life and growth. I say this often but God is in control and He knows what He is doing. He knows how to answer our prayers. As a matter of fact, He knew the answer before we even asked Him. “Prayers up, blessings down” like they say. Let the child in us rise up and let’s pray with faith. Suggested reading: Matthew 7:7-11; Matthew 21:22; 1 John 5:14-15

Leave a Reply

