Free will

Yesterday I dropped a friend off in Mount Kisco, NY. I wasn’t too familiar with the town so I had to use my GPS to get home. As I was coming out of the driveway of the place where I left my friend, I was supposed to make a left. There was too much traffic going left so I made a right. What I love about my GPS is that it can always take me back home no matter how many times I make a wrong turn or I miss an exit. I made a right and the GPS guided me back nicely to my final destination. I find that God has done that for me many times through the years. I make a wrong turn but He takes me back home. He guides me through the Holy Spirit and He shows me the way. I spent about ten years in the wilderness but I can tell that the Lord never gave up on me. Through His grace I was able to have a good life even though I didn’t welcome Him on a regular basis. I was very well aware of who He was but a few experiences in the church left me cold and they distracted me away from Him. I believe free will is a reality that we all have. Many people choose not to give the Lord a chance and they don’t follow Him. They want nothing to do with God because they are satisfied with their lives or they think He just doesn’t exist. Growing up in France I noticed that people were very content with their routine, their baguettes and the Saturday morning sleeping in habit. There is no room for God because a higher being would not fit in their little perfect box. It’s a box that contains rational and concrete ideas. You can’t bring anything that is out of this world and certainly not Jesus into their box. They picture Him as a historical figure at best. This is not true for the whole country of France but a majority of the people in the town where I lived shared that sentiment. Free will! It sounds amazing but it comes with a hefty price tag. You can choose to either believe in God or believe in something/someone else or nothing. My understanding is that God has a plan for everyone. The famous verse about His plan for us is Jeremiah 29:11. It says “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Then free will comes into play and it’s up to us to stay in His will or not. The enemy also has a plan for us and his plan seems to prevail in many cases. We also have our own plan when we try to take matters into our own hands. How often do you exercise free will by trying to be in control of the situation? Taking control of our own life takes us away from faith in God’s plan. When something bad happens if only we could take a minute and say “Lord, things might look bad but I know you have a plan for me. A plan to prosper me and not to harm me. I will trust in You and I give You all control of my situation.” What a statement of faith that is! I am inviting you today to challenge free will and to make a declaration of faith every time your mind tries to make you deviate from God’s plan. There is a lot to be said about free will and I am still in the first stages of learning about it. I will write more about it soon. I hope you will stand with me and decide to let God’s GPS direct you instead of making your own map with your own plans. 

Suggested reading: Isaiah 55:8-12; Psalm 33:11; Psalm 40:5

Leave a Reply

