Change your mind

I have been asking God for guidance as to what to do to renew my mind and not conform to this world. I have read the famous verse over and over again. Romans 12:2 says “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–His good, pleasing and perfect will.” This verse captivates what I know many Christians are struggling with. We get so used to the world patterns of thinking that we find ourselves missing out on some spiritual blessings. I strongly believe that our mind can stop us from growing spiritually if we get stuck in a rut and if we just hold on to our old way of thinking. Could it be that our spiritual breakthrough is around the corner but our mind is delaying the process? This verse invites us to stop thinking like the world and start thinking like the Lord. I have seen some positive spiritual changes in my life in the past three years and it always surprises me when thoughts pop into my mind that I had not entertained in years. It’s as if some of those old patterns were dormant and it takes one simple situation to revive them and to bring back to life some negativity I didn’t remember existed. The more it happened, the more I felt I needed help in that department and that’s why I cried out to God. I am making it a habit to go to Him first now. I trust that He will reply in His own way and I am open to His advice. I also believe that even though God is a big God, He doescome down to our level and He talks to us using a language we can understand. He also provides practical solutions to our theoretical problems. Let me share with you what revelation I have been getting over the past few days. I have found that remembering some of the great things the Lord has done helps a lot but sometimes it just doesn’t cut it. It enables me to have a positive attitude and it controls the negative thoughts to some extent but then they come rolling back in at the least expected time. What I need to do is be more active when it comes to renewing my mind. I have to be engaged in the changing process by first letting the Holy Spirit guide me and then by acting on what He has shown me. In the past 24 hours the Lord has directed me to confront the negative thoughts of the world with His thoughts. This is what I started doing. Every time a pattern of thoughts of the world comes to me, I write it down in my journal. I describe the thoughts in detail. Under those thoughts I rewrite them from the Lord’s point of view. I choose a different color because I am very visual. Now when the thoughts are attacking me, I will read the new version of those thoughts out loud. I believe the more I hear it, the more I will buy into it. This method seems to be working well for me. I like the visual part and the rewriting in a positive way. It will require repetition but I am willing to stick with it. Pray that the Lord gives you the best method you should use to renew your mind. He will work with you and guide you on the right path. Let’s not conform to the way of the world but let’s follow the way of the Lord. 

Suggested reading: 1 Peter 1:14; Ephesians 4:22-24; 1 John 2:15-17

Leave a Reply

