Give God your anxiety

A few days ago I found myself at a crossroads where negative emotions and thoughts were trying to get the best of me. I had been tired and sluggish so I was fully aware of the impact of fatigue on my spirit. Some people are constantly tired and then they wonder why their faith is weaker and worry has a strong hold on them. I am a big advocate of taking a break and resting. Rest is a spiritual boost and it should be part of our weekly routine. Going back to the crossroads, I had the choice to either follow the path of misery that was creeping in through my mind or turn away from it and get back on God’s road. His road is always the best option but it’s not always the easiest route either. I felt like I was sitting on a horse sideways and I need to straighten my posture as soon as possible. When we start getting lost in negative thoughts it not only affects us but it also affects people around us and we contribute even more to the already negatively charged atmosphere. Let’s not add negative spiritual ions to the world. The best way to fight the negative is with the positive. I turned away and I faced God head on. I found refuge in prayer and I laid it all at the Lord’s feet. It is ok to say you are in need of help and recognize your weaknesses. Times like these remind us of how human we are. I know of some “Super Christians” who won’t go to God with a broken heart. They tried to mend it on their own and then turn to God. They think “I shouldn’t feel this way. Jesus is in me. This is wrong. Let me take care of it.” Friend, this is why we have Jesus. He is here to take our burdens and deal with all oppression that might come our way. He completed the work on the cross but we all need a booster dose of His deliverance. A booster dose is a an extra administration of a vaccine (here Jesus’ action on the Cross) after an earlier dose (our initial acceptance of Christ). This is what I prayed; “Lord I can’t do this without you. I need your help and your comfort. I lay down all emotions, feelings and thoughts that contradict Your promises. Take this burden and give me Your peace.” Matthew 11:28-30 describes beautifully what the Lord did for me after that prayer. Jesus said in those verses “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” I felt better right away and the fact that I was meeting a friend for dinner, helped me keep my mind clear. God showed me His love for me throughout the evening not only by the great interaction I had with my friend but also underlining His goodness by bringing back memories of triumphant times. It’s been four days and His peace is still present. Daily prayers are also booster doses that do wonders. If you are at a crossroads today and you don’t know which way to turn, choose to turn away from the negativity. Go to God. Get the proper help. The Lord will replace your burden with His peace. He is faithful. He will do it for you!Suggested reading: Psalm 4:8; Psalm 55:22; Isaiah 14:3-4; Mark 6:31

Leave a Reply

