Made to worship Him

A few days ago I listened to three new songs that Hillsong Worship will be releasing soon. As I was worshipping in my kitchen, it hit me that I was made to worship the Lord. Tears came down as the presence of the Holy Spirit saturated me as He loves to do. Realizing that I was made to worship went beyond head knowledge and intellectual understanding. It came alive in my spirit and as a result, it shifted my focus and my way of thinking about myself, my life, the world and the Lord. Yes, it was that huge. It’s something I had known for a while but this time it got real. To worship is to show reverence and adoration for God. It can be expressed through singing but it also takes the form of reverence in what we do every day. One of the earliest mentions of worshipping in the Bible can be found in Exodus 23:25. It says “Worship the Lord your God, and his blessing will be on your food and water. I will take away sickness from among you.” The Lord wants us to worship Him because He knows it is good for us. Have you ever looked at worship from that angle? Food and water in this verse, represent living essentials, the staples of life. When you worship the Lord, He takes care of all the things that are essential in your life. You don’t have to worry about anything. He will also bless of the essential parts of your life. He knows what’s vital to you and He will put His blessing on it. He also promises health when you worship Him. When I get a headache or a sinus infection, I push myself to thank God and worship Him. I also rebuke the symptoms. I did that a lot years ago when I would wake up nauseous in the middle of the night. It always worked even if it took a little while at times. We were meant to worship the Lord and I am praying for a revelation of how that translates in our lives every day. Let’s learn to worship Him with the way we talk, the way we think and the way we act. Worship talk keeps away from cursing, gossiping and degrading chatter. Worship thoughts ban negative thoughts and lean toward thoughts of peace and love all the time. Worship action expresses love and produces acts of kindness, demonstrations of patience and discipline. If you need inspiration as to what worship should look like, read the book of Psalms and ask the Holy Spirit for guidance. Ask Him to direct you in your worship walk. He will show you how to worship with all you are. We were meant to worship the Lord, friend. It’s a liberating thought because it puts everything into perspective and it gives us all a purpose in life. God is faithful and He will always reward our worship. 

Suggested reading: 1 Chronicles 16:23-31; Psalm 99; John 4:21-24

Leave a Reply

