Perfect timing 

I recently felt prompted to buy a present for a new friend I had met in church about a month ago. I wasn’t sure why I was led to get him a present but I did. I didn’t want to miss the guidance of the Holy Spirit. I was supposed to see that friend on Sunday but we ended up getting together four days later the day before he had to travel to Europe. I gave him the gift and told him the Lord wanted him to have it. Much to my surprise, my friend said that next Tuesday was his birthday and he wasn’t going to be here since he was traveling abroad for the first time in his life. I thought this was perfect timing and the Lord made sure I gave him the gift right before his trip. According to my timing, I should have given him the present on Sunday but God’s timing is always best. There are times when things don’t happen on our timetable. Times when we think we know when the best time is but nothing materializes “on time”. We want things to go according to our own plans. We think we can predict the day and the hour but frustration sets in when a setback throws our timing off. As a Christian, I am learning to trust God’s timing. It takes faith and it requires an effort on my part to let go of what I see as my own time constraints. After spending time researching the Bible, I found out that trusting God’s timing had to do with patience and blind faith. I need to remind myself that His timing is perfect. It might seem slow to me but everything is on track in His reality. Habakkuk 2:3 says “For still the vision awaits its appointed time; it hastens to the end—it will not lie. If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay.” Our human timeframes zero in on what is perceived as delays. However, God is in control and if He says it’s not time yet then it’s not time yet. We shouldn’t let the world shape our timeframes. There is a set time for everything and God has already set His clock. It’s not a minute too late and not a minute too early. There are so many pieces being worked out in the background that we know nothing about but God knows. I was telling a friend a few days ago that I had waited for three years to see one of God’s promises come to pass in my life. Did I get discouraged? Yes. Did I give up? No because I get reminded that it will happen when everything lines up perfectly. It will all be in harmony on a spiritual level, emotional leveland physical level. Psalm 27:14 encourages me every time I read it. It says “Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” The truth is that nothing can take away what the Lord has in store for us. If we demonstrate faith by being patient, we are coming into agreement with the Word and we are aligning ourselves to receive the promises. Friend, your season might not be here yet but it is in the works. God is working on your situation right now and His timing will blow you away. Sometimes it is when we least expect it that we get the blessing. There is no rhyme or reason to it other than God’s timing being the perfect timing. Ecclesiastes 3:1 declares that “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.” It’s not for us to determine when that season is. We just need to believe that it is in our future. The Lord has His own notion of time. For Him “one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.” (2 Peter 3:8). A few weeks ago the clock in my classroom stopped working and the custodians had to replace it three times. None of the clocks worked so they had to special order a new clock that I will get over the summer. One of my students said that now that there is no clock, we are outside of time. He said that there is no notion of time in my classroom. He was joking but there is so much truth associated with what he said. It’s time we looked at time the way the Lord does. Next time you get a breakthrough that seems to have taken a long time, boldly declare “Thank you Lord. Perfect timing!”

Suggested reading: Genesis 18:14; Ecclesiastes 3:11; Psalm 31:15; Micah 7:7

Leave a Reply

