Looking at the world through God’s window

I enjoy looking out the window on the top floor of my house. I get a nice bird’s eye view of what’s going on. I look at the world through the windows, through natural lenses. What I see is what I get. It take it all for face value. Because I am so high up I need to interpret what I see since I can’t hear from up there. For instance if I see people walking by that seem to be having a heated conversation, my mind tells me they are fighting. Next thing you know I start imagining that they are a couple on the verge of separating. My window to the world is open through my thoughts and my perception of things. In life we often look at the world through a natural window that has no God filter. We take things for face value and accept them without using faith as our window screen. God is inviting us to use faith in Him as our number one window screen. The world might be presenting a certain situation to us but God wants us to see things through His eyes. I have started using Jesus as my filter of the world more and more. I ask myself “What would Jesus say or do in my situation?” Another crucial question is “How would Jesus see this situation?” The Lord wants us to be receptive to what He has to offer in this world. Psalm 119:18 says “Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.” The Message version calls the wondrous things miracle wonders. Could it be that there are more miracles around us than we can see but we are blind to them? 1 Samuel 12:16 says “Now then, stand still and see this great thing the Lord is about to do before your eyes.” Put emphasis on the verb “see” here in this verse. To be able to see what the Lord is going to do often requires faith. It requires believing that God will fulfill His promise to watch over us and bless us with heavenly blessings that exceed earthly riches. I often talk about the eyes of faith and I believe it is the best way to look at the world. Let’s not accept our circumstances just the way they are especially if they are bad. Let’s build up our faith so we have a great disposition to see God’s hands in our life. “Faith comes from hearing and hearing comes form the Word of God” (Romans 10:17). One way to sharpen our vision and allow the eyes of faith to lead us is by hearing the Word and growing in faith. Then our eyes of faith will look and they will make us say ” My ears had heard of You but now my eyes have seen You” (Job 42:5). Job was a man of faith who never cursed God even though he went through a lot. His faith led him to the point where He saw God rescue him from his misery. Jesus wants us to “fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen” (2 Corinthians 4:18). Start seeing yourself debt-free, healed, happy, full of life, loved, safe, protected, and blessed!

Looking at the world through God’s window also implies loving the world the way He does. When I walk around New York City I like to let the Lord whisper to my heart that He loves everyone. I look at people on the street and in my spirit He tells me “I love him. I love her. I love him too and her. I’m crazy about her and I love him”. His vision of the world stems from love. Love is what He wants us to use to interact with the world. My prayer today is that we would let Jesus take mud, so to speak, rub it on our eyes and open our eyes so can see everything clearly (Mark 8:25). Next time we stand by the window, let’s be sure the window screen of faith is secure and love is the lens we put on to look at the world just like Jesus does. 

Suggested reading: 2 Samuel 10:12; Luke 24:31, John 12:40

Leave a Reply

