You don’t have to stand in line

When I am in the city, it seems that I have to stand in line to get into most places. Whether it’s my favorite cookie place or church, there is some waiting involved. I don’t mind it too much because it helps build my patience but I sometimes wish I could be in the VIP line and get in faster. When I went to the Jesus Culture concert, I was able to get a VIP ticket and I had early access to the venue. That was a one time deal because long lines have become a norm in many places. There are even lines to see the doctor, at the emergency room, to get paperwork taken care of at the town hall, at the DMW. “Wait your turn” is the message we are accustomed to. There is nothing wrong with waiting like I said before. It contributes to developing spiritual maturity. However, when it comes to interacting or talking to the Lord, there are no waiting lines. Whoever has told you that you have to wait in order to communicate with God has misled you. That’s the way I used to think. I used to even think that there were only selected times and places where I could talk to God. I also believed that if I wasn’t kneeling down I couldn’t pray. Friend, with Jesus you are always in the VIP lane. You have priority access to the throne of God through faith. No need to stand in line for hours. He is available right here and right now. You are in the front of the line and He is ready to talk to you right away. The church is not the only place where God is accessible. You see, He promised that He would be with us always. Jesus said in Matthew 28:20 ” I will be with you always even to the end of the age.” He is by your side right now and thanks to the Holy Spirit you can get to know Him. Friend, you have free access to the throne of God. The Holy Spirit dwells in us and He puts us in contact with the Lord. Jesus has a seat at the right hand of the throne of God according to Hebrews 8:1. If we can be in contact with the Lord through His Spirit that means we have free admission to the throne. Jesus is our connection to the throne. Every time you pray, you are directing your prayers to the throne of God. Think about it. Let that sink in. There is no one in front of you. No one is cutting you in line. You are at the head of the line. The Holy Spirit is your VIP pass and the Lord is the star of the concert of your life. He ensures that there will be beautiful music played in your life to make up for the sad songs that the enemy has put together in the past. Talk to Him wherever you are. Your VIP pass is permanent. I pray to God even when I am teaching. Not out loud but I do it. There is no need to wait. I just do it on the spot. Feel free to pray for people right there and then. You are always in the front of the line and God is always listening. Sometimes we think that just because we don’t get an answer right away it implies that God is not listening to us. It’s not the case. When you pray He hears you. Better yet when you pray He has already heard you. Next time you feel like you can’t talk to God, remember that you don’t have to stand in a long line. He is right in front of you smiling and loving you so much. God is with you always! Praise Him!Suggested reading: Joshua 1:5; Isaiah 41:10; Acts 18:9-10

Leave a comment